Bibi-Ka-Makbara, Aurangabad

Aurangabad Caves, Aurangabad

Nasik Caves, Nasik

Ajanta Caves, Aurangabad

Ellora Caves, Aurangabad

Quila-I-Shakin, Daulatabad Fort, Aurangabad

About Us - Aurangabad Circle

The Aurangabad Circle of the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) was initially known as Western Circle in the year 1885 covering the monuments in Bombay Presidency, Pakistan, Gujarat, Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh during the British rule. However, after independence in 1953, the Western Circle was bifurcated and renamed as South-Western Circle with its Headquarters at Poona. In the year 1964, the headquarters was shifted from Pune to Aurangabad as most of the important monuments were located near the Aurangabad City. In the year 1961, when the Union Territory of Goa attained the status of State, the monuments of Goa were placed under a mini-circle and included in Aurangabad Circle for administrative purposes. Again in the year 1975, the boundaries of the Circles were demarcated state-wise and as a result, a handful of monuments of south-western circle came under the Karnataka State. Simultaneously, a number of monuments from Madhya Pradesh and Andhra Pradesh under the control of this circle were included in Bhopal and Hyderabad Circle.

In the year 1985, the renaming of Circles from geographical nomenclature into name of city or State Capital took place and the South-Western Circle was renamed as Aurangabad Circle. The Goa mini circle attained status of distinct Circle in 2001. The Aurangabad Circle was further bifurcated into Mumbai and Aurangabad Circles in 2004, wherein Mumbai Circle controlled entire Konkan and monuments in Pune, Sangli, Satara, Kolhapur and Solapur districts. Rest of the Maharashtra including North-Western Maharashtra, Marathwada, Khandesh and Vidarbha remained under Aurangabad Circle. A separate Circle for Vidarbha area- eastern Maharashtra was carved out under name of Nagpur Circle in 2013.

At present, there are 75 centrally protected monuments of different periods under jurisdiction of Aurangabad Circle which includes Marathwada and Khandesh regions of central Maharashtra and Ahemadnagar and Nashik districts of western Maharashtra. These monuments are administrated through six sub-circles, namely Ajanta, Ellora, Bibi-ka-Maqbara and Daulatabad in district Aurangabad; Ahmednagar in district Ahmednagar; Nasik in district Nasik. The Aurangabad Circle maintains six ticketed monuments including two World Heritage monuments, namely Ajanta and Ellora Caves. Apart from these monuments, the Circle has a large number of cave monuments under its jurisdiction. The earliest among the Buddhist groups of cave are represented by the caves at Pithalkhora followed by Ajanta, Ellora and Aurangabad Caves. These Buddhist caves are carved between 2nd century B.C. and 7th -8the centuries A.D. The Hindu cave architecture is represented by examples of Ellora and Dhokeshwar Caves. The Jaina caves at Ellora also represent a unique development of Jaina cave architecture. The Daulatabad Fort presents a unique example of fort architecture.

Besides these, there are a number of important excavated sites like Daimabad, Newasa, Prakash and Paithan which through valuable light on the archaeological remains of this region right from the Palaeolithic period to the modern times. There are also, temples, mosques, tombs under the protection of Aurangabad circle. The Aurangabad circle carries out preservations, conservation and maintenance of the monuments / sites falling under its jurisdiction. Further, the officers of Science Branch at Aurangabad (Western Zone) and Ajanta (Field Laboratory) carries out chemical preservation of these monuments. The Horticulture Branch located at Aurangabad carries out environmental up-gradation of the monuments.